How Do I Build My Mortgage Business?

This is probably the number one general question I get emailed from Better Closer readers. Obviously, this is the whole subject of Better Closer, but I will try to create a Build My Mortgage Business 101 starter kit in this post.

The fundamental key to all of this is start small and focus on execution. You are building a solid foundation that you can grow on.

I always find these to be the foundational building blocks (and in the correct order):

  • Attitude–I know you have heard this, but it is important. You have to believe you can do it and have confidence you will get there. That is easy said, but what most people don’t get is that it is more than a state of mind. It takes action. You have to read, learn, practice, and train to have the confidence that builds a winning attitude. Albert Pujols did not have confidence or the attitude to face any major league pitcher when he was 12, but he certainly does now and it was not all just training his belief–it was work
  • Knowledge–This is fundamental to attitude and to your plan, which is the next step. Being the best and most knowledgeable at what you do creates opportunities for success. Again this is work. That work, for you in the mortgage business, includes learning about the markets and what makes them change, learning about financial planning and what financial objectives people need to accomplish at different stages of their life, learn about mortgage products and what they do or don’t do for a borrower, watch and listen to other successful professionals in your business.
  • Execution–Now you have the right attitude and the knowledge to be valuable. All you need to do is to develop a plan to distribute that plan. This is where a lot of people get too broad too fast. I subscribe to the get small, grow fast philosophy of business. If you pick one thing, do it well, then you can build on that solid foundation to get bigger. Next are some ideas.

Ideas to build your client base and distribute your value:

  • First, determine the audience and client type you want to target–good credit, poor credit, early life, late life, average home, high-end homes, etc.
  • Start a blog–make sure you are talking to your customers and prospective customers, NOT yourself or your colleagues
  • Start an email newsletter–don’t do it more frequently than weekly and send out rate watches, market updates, financial strategies, product education, or other information that will inform customers when they should be talking to you
  • Offer complimentary credit or equity analysis–consumers are always curious about their credit and how much their home is worth
  • Write handwritten notes to your clients–send birthday cards or mortgage check-up reminders
  • Start speaking and giving seminars–Mortgage101, Surviving the Crash: Are You in the Right Mortgage?, etc. Start at your local civic clubs

Here are some excellent resources to get started:

Mortgage Market

The Mortgage Reports
Bankrate
Altos Research

Real Estate Market

Future of Real Estate Marketing
Bloodhound Blog
Inman News

Sales

Jeffrey Gitomer
Savage Insights
Better Closer
My Sales Presentations

Marketing

Seth Godin
Duct Tape Marketing
Morinsight
Doublepositive Blog
Lead Marketwatch

Resources

Hoard
Amazon
WordPress
AWeber

Hope this helps. Drop me an email anytime to ask questions and tell me how it is going.

Technorati Tags: , ,

3 responses to “How Do I Build My Mortgage Business?

  1. Pingback: Competing on Rate Makes You a Loser « Better Closer Blog

  2. You hit it right on the head attitude, knowlege and execution. Those are absolutely key. Your comment about handwritten notes really hit a chord with me as well. I used to spend 6 hours a week writing 240 handwritten notes. I built a $1 million dollar a year income as a financial advisor doing just that. Such a simple, inexpensive marketing plan that yielded huge results. I have shared this with so many people over the last 5 years. All people that wanted a $1 million a year income but not one was willing to put just 6 hours in writing them. I just scratch my head. Thanks for the great article!

  3. Funny, I came to the comments section to make a similar statement to Mike’s. Handwritten notes (especially well-times ones) are absolutely key.
    I can still recall receiving a handwritten card from the estimable Mr. Alfred Bissell on my 12th birthday. Al was an insurance man from WAY back, and he didn’t send me any money, just a warm note with his business card attached. I felt totally grown up, and I remember it warmly now, decades later, long after Alfred’s death.
    Here’s the thing… he wasn’t even selling me anything. He was just creating a relationship. If Alfred was still around, he’d be my insurance agent. Hands down.
    Jerry
    http://www.leads4insurance.com

Leave a Reply

