Give Value First–The Jeffrey Gitomer Way

I was in Vegas this week for the Western Regional Mortgage Broker show and got the opportunity to meet and talk to Jeffrey Gitomer for the first time.

He has been a major influencer of my sales philosophy and how these principles are applied to my company’s customer acquisition (lead management) software.

Here is the cornerstone of Jeffrey Gitomer, and now my, sales philosophy:

“Give Value First”

Not only is this important because it builds relationships, respect, trust, and plain likeability (things that bring you sales by the bucket full), but it breaks down barriers. These are barriers that are the distractions to your sale. I have talked about this before, but let me give you a couple of examples you can probably put into action on your calls today:

Customer: Yeah, I definitely need to get out of my ARM before it goes up, but I gotta get my taxes straightened out–you know it is tax season.

You: Oh, I know what that is like, but I don’t stress about it any more. [Going into your accountant relationship file] Susie Smith is my accountant now and he makes my tax season feel like bonus time. Let me put you two together and I am going to give you $500 off your closing so you can pay him and get piece of mind on your taxes and your mortgage.

I bet this gets you a closed deal and a referral out of Susie Smith!

Customer: I just lost my job. So, now I am “consulting.” I really need to get that going before I get this refinance done

You: I know how consulting can be. A little scary, huh? Well lets get this ARM refinanced so you don’t have to worry about that and I want to put you together with a great recruiter I know that can find you the perfect opportunity.

Another closed deal and another referral in the long-term pipeline!

Customer: We are moving with this new job and I am trying to get a feel for where to live before I get the mortgage started.

You: Coming to a new area is always overwhelming. Let me put you together with my realtor. He knew everything about Pleasantville–schools, shopping, commuting routes. Meanwhile, I will get you pre-approved so it is like caring cash into your dream home purchase.

Three deals and a third referral!

BTW, If these are not on your book shelf they should be:

The Little Red Book of Selling: 12.5 Principles of Sales Greatness

Little Black Book of Connections: 6.5 Assets for Networking Your Way to Rich Relationships

Little Red Book of Sales Answers: 99.5 Real World Answers That Make Sense, Make Sales, and Make Money

Leave a Reply

